Interviews, Lenormand, Tarot

Interviewing Klara Spalińska, creatrix of Middia Lenormand.

It seems that I am getting familiar with the interview thing! Honestly, I have to say that I am enjoying this, a lot! Even more when I am able to introduce you the responsible from one of the most enjoyable Lenormand decks I have ever worked with: Middia Lenormand.

She draws, she paints, she imagines. She’s Klara Spalińska from Middia Ezo Art!

dav

“What about the future? Our future life is a blank card.” 

Q – In the companion booklet of Middia Lenormand, you mention that you do not believe in divination itself, but in exploration. How does this approach fit with the “gossipy” nature of Lenormand from your perspective?

K.S. – “Lenormand cards, as any other systems, are for me the door to subconsciousness. Pictures are speaking. Sometimes it does not matter what the classic meaning is. That’s why I don’t consider Lenormand’s nature when I use it :)”

Q – Why “Middia”?

K.S. – “It was long time ago. I was looking for a nice nick/name for me, for my internet activity. I took piece of paper and the pencil and tried to write something nice looking. Finally Middia came to me. Next I started the search. In case of is this known somewhere. And guess what: it is old saxon “in the middle”. And this is exactly my philosophy. Stay in balance. Don’t overdo.”

dav

Star, Heart and Key from Middia Lenormand.

Q – There are very curious cards in your deck. For instance “Heart” catches strongly my attention, as a sailor-like tattoo in an arm. As well, “Star” is pictured as a necklace. What would you say is the theme of your deck?

K. S. – “I didn’t mean any theme, when I created it. Images came from my imagination/subconsciousness. I was hoping that they will be unusual/unique. Different perspective. But still near of the original meaning.”

Q – How was the process of creation of your Middia Lenormand? Were you inspired by pictures you already have or was it a conscious creation from the beginning?

K.S. – “I have had one term: Macro views. Like macro photography. Close to the details. Sometimes I needed photos to draw , sometimes just imagination. About inspiration: my best way to make beautiful card depictions is recall my childhood. Woods, dreams and other nice things. Middia Lenormand’s Tree card comes straight from my childhood’s backyard.”

IYKOetsy01

IYKO Oracle.

Q – Speaking about other creations, I’m curious about your IYKO oracle. Can you tell me a little bit about it?

K.S. – “I wanted to have something like runes but more friendly 🙂 So they consist of icons like Chalice, Coin (correspond to tarot), Heart, Bird (correspond to lenormand), Cat, Fence, Window, Feather… you can use it like cards or runes. My favorite using is as a charm. I take  a photo of my IYKO spread (one or more IYKOs) and keep it as wallpaper in my smartphone. As long as it is needed. I have also IYKO bracelets in my offer. And I gladly wear one of those.”

tarot

Some of the cards from Tarot Manibus.

Q – As far as I know, you’re currently working on a new creation. Tarot Manibus. How is it going? What are your plans for it?

K.S – “Manibus means Hand in latin. The deck’s motto is “Life is in Your hands”. Now when the IYKO is finished I can focus on my tarot deck. I hope to finish it this year. It will be a full 78 cards deck. All the cards on gray paper, using pastels and charcoal. Mainly shades of gray. But each card has one additional color accent. You can see the progress on my webpage.”

Q – If it depended on you, how would you like your divinatory tools to be used?

K.S. – “Without the book or any other guide. Just imagination :)”

Q – Is there something you would like to say about you or your artwork? Use this space to share it.

K.S. – “Drawing, sketching, painting is my best way to become peaceful. So why not make it my way of life. I don’t like to say I am the artist. I just like to create beautiful things. I am also a tarot/oracle decks collector. Multi symbolism is what I really like in divination tools. I use them as a key to understand myself and other people. Or just to make me feel better.

Besides all this I can say about myself with these words: I draw I paint I imagine :)”

That was refreshing! I love her approach, everything you need to know is already within you. What are your views? Have you ever worked with Middia’s Lenormand? If so, how was it? I would love you to share your experience!

Do you want to know more about Klara and her artwork? You can follow her on Instagram @middia_ezo_art and see how Tarot Manibus progresses!

Have a lovely week everyone!

dav
Click on the image to go to Middia’s shop!
1 thought on “Interviewing Klara Spalińska, creatrix of Middia Lenormand.”

Leave a Reply

